About St. Vincent de Paul

The vision of St. Vincent de Paul – District Council of Dayton is to improve the lives of people in need in the Miami Valley.

Our mission is to, with Christian purpose, accompany those in need one person at a time by focusing on shelter, food, and clothing.

We hold the beliefs of unconditional service, hospitality, stewardship, and gratitude to be our core values.

For adults and families in the Miami Valley who are on the brink of becoming homeless or who are already homeless, St Vincent de Paul – District Council of Dayton, through its Conferences (chapters) and Special Works, provides person-to-person emergency assistance and supportive services to those living in the Montgomery County and surrounding communities.

Our Diversity Statement:

It is the intent of St. Vincent de Paul of Dayton to provide equal opportunity for all—in employment, in provision of services, and in recruitment of volunteers—without regard to race, religion, age, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, disability status, military status, Vietnam veteran status, veteran status, color, political affiliation, union activity or any other characteristic protected by applicable local, state or federal law.

St. Vincent de Paul serves our neighbors in need, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Our help begins with our Conferences and their volunteer members (Vincentians) giving emergency assistance with utilities, food, clothing, furniture and many other services to our neighbors in need. Person-to-person assistance is the trademark of the St. Vincent de Paul Conferences; helping individuals to stay in their homes.

When a person becomes homeless, St. Vincent de Paul is also there to offer shelter and hope. Our shelters provide temporary emergency shelter to those who are homeless. During the course of any given day our shelters serve over 400 men, women and children. We provide daily meals, showers, clothing, personal care items, mail and messaging service, and access to full-time case managers who assist our guests in achieving housing based on their individual needs. Each year nearly 4,200 people come to us for shelter. While most guests only stay for a short period of time, we annually help hundreds of individuals to transition from the shelter into permanent housing. Our focus at St. Vincent de Paul is to help our guests address their challenges through Christian accompaniment, and with compassion.

You can join us in our efforts by volunteering, donating in-kind goods or services, or supporting us financially through a gift today.

We are faithfully guided by the oversite of Vincentians and community members who sit on two boards. Each board provides accountability, insight, guidance, decision-making, and prayers for our operations.

Dayton District Council Board

As of February 2021

President: Matt Graybill

Vice President: Bonnie Vitangeli

Treasurer: Dennis Wolters

Secretary: Marsha Hess

Spiritual Advisor: Clyde Golden

Larry Simpson, Ascension

Pat Gill, Corpus Christi

William Burkhart, Emmanuel

Joan Andersen, Holy Angels, Dayton

Ken Knapke, Holy Angels, Sidney

Candy Huttinger, Incarnation

Tom Boland, Mary Help of Christians

Rose Schultz, Our Lady of Good Hope

Mieke Clark, Our Lady of Mercy

Carol Adamson, Our Lady, Mother of Refugees

Vicki Tischler, Our Lady of the Rosary

LouAnn Geel, Queen of Martyrs

John Malas, St. Albert the Great

Mary Cox, St. Anthony

Barb Maichle, St. Augustine, Germantown

Kate Heminger, St. Augustine, Waynesville

Tom Forsthoefel, St. Brigid, Xenia

Cheryl Pothast, St. Denis/Holy Family/Immaculate Conception

Tom Kwest, St. Francis of Assisi

Fran O’Shaughnessy, St. Helen

Steve Brandell, St. Henry

Gary Miller, St. Luke

Moira Pfeifer, St. Mary of the Assumption, Springboro

Marsha Hess, St. Michael – Sts. Peter & Paul

John Tishaus, St. Patrick Troy

Carolyn Yankel, St. Peter

Pat Lewis, St. Rita/St. Paul/Precious Blood

Tom Doseck, St. Remy Russia

Ella Glabus, University of Dayton

Community Board Members

As of February 2019

President: Mike Fink, Managing Director-Investments

Vice-President: Michael McGraw, President, James Capital Alliance, Inc.

Treasurer: Dennis Wolter, Retired Executive, Day International

Secretary: Tony Ciani, Retired Account Manager, Electronic Data Systems (EDS)

Kelly McCracken, President, Franciscan Media

Jeff Mullins, Partner-in-Charge, Taft Stettinius & Hollister

William U. Michel, Retired Business Executive

Larry Hickland, Professional Musician

Louis R. Lunne, Retired Investment Advisor

Clare Thielen, Investment Advisor, James Capital Alliance

Dennis R. Wolters, Retired Executive, Protective Treatments Inc.

Ex-Officio (Non-Voting) Member:

Matt Graybill, DDC President

Michael E. Vanderburgh, Executive Director, St. Vincent de Paul Dayton District Council

Contact Us:
St. Vincent de Paul Dayton
124 West Apple St.

Phone: 937.222.5555
Fax: 937.222.7944

©2019 St. Vincent de Paul Dayton. All rights reserved.